Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hello there! One of the blogs that I follow keenly: The Jouska Blog tagged all her followers to try this and so I have. Being a huge fan, I thought it would be a lot of fun! 🙂

Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016: 

I have not read many books in 2016 to be honest. Was really busy and just haven’t been concentrating fully on a book as much as I should but I would say that my favourite so far would be “The Devil and Miss Prym” by Paulo Coelho. I liked it because it was interesting, engaging and made me think. 

53806

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016:

It’s the first time in my life that I have read the Harry Potter Book series (I know its kinda late) so I would have to say I really enjoyed “Goblet of Fire”. I know its not really a sequel in its literal sense but hey….

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year:

I would have to say Harry Potter and the Cursed child. The book is the eight installment in the Harry Potter series and it is also being made into a play. It follows the life of Harry Potter and his son, 19 years after the events of the Deathly Hallows. As a new fan, I can’t wait! 

curesd-child

Biggest Disappointment:

Don’t have any to be honest. I usually read books I know or have been told by others I trust are good and if I don’t know about it then I usually just check the rating online. I know it takes the excitement out of discovery but I want to read as many good books as I can. 

Biggest Surprise:

To be honest I did not think I would like the Harry Potter series as much as I did. I liked the movies (some of them at least) and I knew it couldn’t be that bad if so many people I know liked it but it was a nice surprise nonetheless. 

harrypottercollection

Favourite New Author: (Debut or New to you)

Salman Rushdie. I just started reading Midnight’s Children and its already really good. I can see why it won the Man Booker prize and was voted the “Best of the Booker”- one of the highest, if not the highest honor in the literary world. 

14836

Newest Fictional Crush:

I haven’t really read many books with strong female characters recently but it would probably have to be Hermione Grainger from the Harry Potter series. It’s just that she was so smart, determined and resourceful and I love Emma Watson. I know its unrelated but still…

Hermione_Granger_poster

Newest Favourite Character:

I do not really have a favourite, but I am most intrigued by the character of Voldemort from the Harry Potter series. One of my gripes with the series is that some of the characters are just not described in much detail and so while we know Voldemort was evil and did many Dark things we aren’t told what they are, except for murdering his family. 

Lordvoldemort

A Book That Made You Cry:

Well an entire book in itself doesn’t make me cry. However, “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak really made me emotional. Its compelling, riveting and sad. 

51A99teA6iL._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_

 

A Book That Made You Happy:

For me happiness and sadness are emotions that books can’t give you. Books are supposed to make you ruminate, reflect and make you feel lots of things but one that I felt a lot of positive emotions for was “Arabian Sands” by Sir Wilfred Thesiger. I read this in December 2015 but it doesn’t really matter.  The book described his journey across the Empty Quarter of the Arabian peninsula from 1945-1950. He was probably the last European to make the journey without the use of motor vehicles and the detail and depth in which he goes really ignited a fire within for travel and adventure.

arabian sands

Favourite Book To Film Adaptation:

Lord of the Rings, hands down. I read this a few years ago, but hey I have not seen any better adaption since. As a book the “Hobbit” was amazing, the movies not so much. Although I feel that there could have been more included in the movies, it has been the truest adaptation. 

LOTR111

Favourite Post You’ve Done this Year:

I have only done one other one about books so I guess this is kinda irrelevant. 

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought this Year:

This book cover is not really beautiful in the sense of aesthetic appeal but I recently re-bought one of my favourite books that I had as a child – “Archer’s Goon” by Diana Wynne Jones – who by the way is one of my favourite authors and I absolutely love it. The story might be childish now but the book is a real page turner. 

51KGTZ2DT0L

Oh and I know this isn’t “beautiful” but one of the most interesting book covers I bought was a version of  “Inferno” by Dante Alighieri” which is the first part of three in his classic Divine Comedy, which describes Dante’s journey through hell guided by the ancient Roman poet, Virgil. 

tumblr_mntetaMvnT1sqqnhuo1_1280
creepy but what artwork

What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year:

Too many to be honest but I would like to read “War and Peace” by Leo Tolstoy this year. I bought it a long time ago and still haven’t gotten round to reading it. I would also really like to read 

9780060798871-us-300

I tag everyone to do this and I look forward to reading your answers! 🙂

Till next time!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sadhana Kakee says:

    I don’t think I can ever read any of Harry Potter books. I slept while watching one of them ,so what more reading . I read a few good books though this year.’The Unborn Curse ‘ by Muni Lol Prakash which is a thought provoking piece of writing. It’s about the most distressing issue , female foeticides in India. Another book that i really liked was ‘ Answers Within’ by Shri Shrutpragya Swami . The title explains the contents. I suppose taste changes as age catches up.

    Like

    1. kunaaldoshi says:

      That sounds very interesting. Ill try to find those books. We are all different and its nice to hear about books that I may have never hear off. Its a chance to learn something new.

      Like

Leave a Reply

