The Reader’s Confession Tag

Hello all!

I was not specifically nominated by anyone, but I found this really interesting and as an avid reader it really resonated with me.

I found out about this from a blog that I follow keenly called the The Jouska Blog, who nominated everyone else do to this. You should check out her blog for interesting stories, anecdotes and stuff about music and cooking!

70902-cover

11 Questions, 11 Answers, Lets go!

  1. Have you ever damaged a book?
    Books are so precious to me and I treat them really well (most of the time). Recently, I have become really paranoid and started putting plastic over my books just to give them extra protection.
    Having said that I can get absent minded sometimes and they become squashed in my bag. I know its irrational and silly but I get really upset when that happens and I go into a really bad mood.
  2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?
    NO WAY! I respect and appreciate the fact that my friends lend me their books, so I would never want to do anything that would damage it. In fact, I treat them like grenades that would explode if dropped.

    LOTR111

  3. How long does it take you to read a book?
    If I am really really into the book, I can finish it in a day or two. When I’m in the zone, I completely lose track of time, hunger or even showering for that matter. Although, if the book doesn’t interest me that much, I take weeks.
  4. Books that I haven’t finished
    There are many that I can remember. However the one that stands out is “Tipping Point” by Malcolm Gladwell. It’s not because its boring, on the contrary, its really interesting. I remember just having other more important things going on and never picked it up since.
  5. Hyped or Popular books that you don’t like?
    To be honest, I am really picky that way and I will only read books that will really interest me but I know for a fact that books like the Twilight Series and 50 shades of Grey are the kind that I will never read, even if I was paid to read them.
    poster_1984_lrg
  6. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?
    Nope, not at all. If I really like it, I would encourage everyone to read it.
  7. How many books do you own?
    Not enough! All jokes aside, I do not really know to be honest. My study area and book shelves are filled with books though.
  8. Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?
    A fast reader for sure. Even if I don’t like a book that much, I will read quickly, just won’t read as much in one sitting as I would if I really liked the book.
  9. Do you like to buddy read?
    I have never experienced something like this, but I would want to try it someday. It does sound intriguing.
  10. Do you read better in your head or out loud?
    In my head, I can’t read out loud. It kinda forces me to be conscious of what I am reading and saying and that just messes with my mind.
  11. If you were allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

    images
    This is a tough one. So many books, so many choices! However, I think I will go with the Jeffrey Archer classic: “Kane and Abel”. I really loved this book because it was interesting and engaging. It was rich in description, drama, betrayal and showed humanity its in ugliest and yet noblest form.

I tag everyone to do this, but in particular I tag CrennisallPanoramic ExplorationConstantin &  Sam (btw, these people have awesome blogs that are worth checking out!). 

 

If you decide to do this, let me know in the comments below, excited to read your answers!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Great answers! I enjoyed reading them. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sadhana says:

    Thanks for the beautiful message you sent through Kavisha . It really made my day. I have not written so much in English to anyone cause I love reading and writing in Malay. As a child I have read Enid Blyton and Famous Five series and other books only in Malay . Even today my hands only reach out for Malay books . I guess I have some unfinished business from my past life. I only started serious reading in English after the kids were born.
    I am delighted that bookworms like you still exist and read books as in their physical form . Today , most children are just glued to the screen. I personally like reading books while holding them in my hands. Otherwise, it’s like induction cooking .
    How I wish that my students are like you who care so much about their books. At.present all the students (STD 1 – form 6) in Malaysia need not buy text books as they are given on loan for the whole year. I suppose when things are given free most people don’t appreciate it. You might faint if you were to see the condition of these books , all ripped and raped . After the exams, books are left along the corridors and thrown in the drains. Most books need ICU treatment.
    You’re very lucky to have parents who have inculcated the love of reading in you. Let me tell you that’s one or hardest tasks as parents. Your parents have done a very good job. Kunaal, keep on reading and it will bring you a very long way .

    Like

  3. Sadhana says:

    Thanks for the beautiful message you sent through Kavisha . It really made my day. I have not written so much in English to anyone cause I love reading and writing in Malay. As a child I have read Enid Blyton, Famous Five series and other books only in Malay . Even today my hands only reach out for Malay books . I guess I have some unfinished business from my past life. I only started serious reading in English after the kids were born.
    I am delighted that bookworms like you still exist and read books as in their physical form . Today , most children are just glued to the screen. I personally like reading books while holding them in my hands. Otherwise, it’s like induction cooking .
    How I wish that my students are like you who care so much about their books. At.present all the students (STD 1 – form 6) in Malaysia need not buy text books as they are given on loan for the whole year. I suppose when things are given free most people don’t appreciate it. You might faint if you were to see the condition of these books , all ripped and raped . After the exams, books are left along the corridors and thrown in the drains. Most books need ICU treatment.
    You’re very lucky to have parents who have inculcated the love of reading in you. Let me tell you that’s one or hardest tasks as parents. Your parents have done a very good job. Kunaal, keep on reading and it will bring you a very long way .

    Like

    1. kunaaldoshi says:

      Woah. that is sad 😦
      Nah aunty it is true. You are too kind to me and it makes my day to read your comments.
      Thank you so much!

      Like

  4. Really interesting questions for a book reader. I am definitely planning to do this.

    Like

    1. kunaaldoshi says:

      You should! I look forward to reading your answers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

