Stars in heaven

 

In the space of a few years, I lost two family members whom I loved and respected greatly. They were beautiful, strong and intelligent women and amazing mothers. Not only to their own children but also to me. They cared for me and loved me as if I was their son.

From these two women, I learnt so much about love, sacrifice, how to be a good human being and how to face lifes difficulties – with hope in your heart and a smile on your face. These women faced more than their fair share of difficulties and emerged stronger and successful.

I miss them so much and I only wish I could have reminded them how special and beautiful they are and told them how much I loved and admired them. Everything good I see in their children is a reflection of their good qualities. Being a mother is not easy, but they made it seem like it was. They were always there with good advice, a warm embrace and if all else failed – delicious, comforting food, that made you forget all your problems.

To have lost ones mother is devastating. For most of us, our mother is our entire life. She is there for us when we are born and she will be there for us even when we claim to be independent and strong. I can’t imagine how it must be like to lose your own mother, but I know how I felt when I lost them – angry, devastated and lost…life is cruel.

For those who have lost their mothers, your mother will always be in your hearts, she would want you to keep smiling and living your life as a good human being. From up above, they are watching, so make them proud.

I am not sure if you are reading this from up there, but heres a short poem just to tell you how much you mean to us.

Like the lighthouse, you fill us with light and show us the way.
The winds and water crash against you
yet you remain upright and steady,
Hope in your heart, a smile on your face, always showing us the way.

You clean, you care and you mend,
You cook, you sew and you fix,
Love unconditionally, invest fully.
You sacrifice your hopes and dreams,
To make ours come true.
Work your fingers to the bone and constantly worry.
Scold your children and then regret it later
Lonely and sad you feel sometimes, but mask it well
Gone you may be now, to rest your weary bones
but live on, you do now – as stars in heaven.
Always showing us the way.

I love you. Thank you for the memories and lessons.

Till next time.

PS: If i have made a mistake in the structure and arrangement of the poem, please correct me!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sadhana kakee (Kavisha' s mom) says:

    Dear Kunaal,
    When I first heard about you pursuing in psychology it was mind boggling. I couldn’t comprehend the reason you chose psychology. But after reading your articles especially ‘stranger- danger ‘ I knew immediately that you had hit the right note. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Exploring Edinburgh’ and ‘Stars in Heaven’. It’s so fresh and honestly written. Your articles are fit for Reader’s Digest . Have you ever thought of sending your articles to be published? Do give it some thought. Keep on writing and keep up the good work.

    Like

    1. kunaaldoshi says:

      Thanks Kakee, you are too kind! I would love to be able to write for Readers Digest and other magazines like that, but I am not sure if I am good enough, though I will give it a shot. I am glad you enjoyed reading it. I am happiest when I know my family and friends like my work.
      🙂

      Like

      1. Sadhana kakee (Kavisha' s mom) says:

        Good. Please give it a shot. You have the perfect flair. So, dear Kunaal just do it. Good luck.

        Like

      2. kunaaldoshi says:

        Thank you! Your belief in me and motivation is inspiring.

        Like

Leave a Reply

