International Students Day

Today Loughborough university organized a very special event. The Loughborough International Students Day bazaar/exhibition where students from different countries were invited to set up a booth and show their country to all the other students. Some of the countries represented were Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, Vietnam, South Korea, China, Hong Kong, France, Spain, Seychelles, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, India, Sri Lanka, Oman, Australia, Turkey, Finland to name but a few (wow!)

All countries put up many pictures of the different cities and attractions that their country has to offer and most, if not every country made some food unique to their country. So it was a very interesting gastronomic experience!

The good: 

It was definitely very interesting to see all the unique costumes, try the delicious food and talk to the people. I really improved my knowledge of some countries and  met some new and fascinating characters. Through my educational experience I have met people from many different countries but never had a chance to learn more about their customs, way of dressing and food so this was certainly a unique experience and one that was super enjoyable.

The bad:

The event was held in the Loughborough Students Union which really is not big enough at all to hold so many people. As such, it was very cramped and there simply was not enough time to stand at a booth and talk to people. If you were lucky you could have, but those moments were few and far between for me. So that reduced the quality of the experience somewhat. I was also disappointed that more African nations were not represented.

Regardless, I still had loads of fun and here are some pictures of me! (I may have got a little too excited and gone overboard, but hey, when am I going to ever experience this again)

Lucky enough to dress as an Arab AND I got my name written in Arabic. How cool is that!
Lucky enough to dress as an Arab. I was so excited!
With my friend Mohammed! Saudi Arabia was one of my favourite booths.
With my friend Mohammed! Saudi Arabia was one of my favourite booths.

 

 

 

Land of the Rising Sun. This lady could paint really well!
Land of the Rising Sun. This lady could paint really well!
With Brazil! They had some really tasty food.
With Brazil! Did you know Brazil has the highest population of people of Japanese origin outside Japan?! Interesting!
China!
China!
With Indonesia! (Cool mask eh?!)
With Indonesia! (Cool mask eh?!)
Beautiful dancers from Russia.
Beautiful dancers from Russia.
With mexican friends! Delicious food!
With mexican friends! Delicious food!

Overall a great time. My only regret was not taking pictures with my friends from Finland! They dressed up as Angry Birds! How creative is that!

Till Next Time!

Leave a Reply

